Gebhardt Emerson Moodie Bonanno, LLC - Contact Us Today

Meet Law Clerk Kristin Day!

Q: How long have you been a law clerk?
A: I have been a law clerk for one year. I am currently attending law school at The University of Denver Sturm College of Law. I will be graduating with my J.D. in December of 2019.

Q: Have you ever worked in any other areas of the law?
A: During my undergraduate career I worked for a civil litigation firm and also a business law firm. Since law school I have only worked in the family law realm.

Q: What drew you to family law?
A: I was drawn to family law because of the positive impact you have on others’ lives who are not in ideal situations. I wanted to become an attorney to advocate for those who feel as though they do not have a voice and are going through some of the hardest changes in life. Family law involves some of the most private and complicated areas of people’s lives and being able to advocate on their behalf and help them navigate the process has always been in my heart.

Q. What do you enjoy most about family law?
A. The thing I enjoy most is helping others achieve their goals through the process that they never believed could be reached, especially when many cases first begin. Every day in family law is different and no case is the same, which allows me to problem solve on every type of issue. I love working in an area of law that challenges me to be the best version of myself as an advocate for others.

Q. What do you think makes you stand out among other professionals?
A. I believe that I stand out because of my passion for helping others and my drive to advocate for those who feel as though there is no hope left. I have gained valuable experience throughout law school that has equipped me to be the sort of strong advocate that family law clients need. As a student, I have had the opportunity to work at Colorado Legal Services in the family violence unit, allowing me work on cases concerning domestic violence and child abuse. I have also had the opportunity to work as a Guardian Ad Litem during law school, which allowed me to advocate for children’s best interests, when they are in the custody of the state during a dependency and neglect proceeding.

Q. Are you originally from Colorado? If so, what do you love most about it? If not, what brought you to Colorado and what do you love most about it?
A. I am actually from a suburb outside of Houston, Texas. My husband and I moved to Denver after he was honorably discharged from the Marine Corps, and I graduated undergrad from the University of Arkansas (WOO PIG!!). We have two large dogs, and we love sports, camping, snowboarding, hiking, lakes, off roading, and fly fishing, and Colorado is a place where all of that is in your backyard.

Q. When you are not working at GEM Family Law, what do you enjoy doing in your free time?
A. When I am not working I am enjoying the outdoors with my husband, our dogs, and our friends.

Q. What is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
A. I won the yodeling contest at Oktoberfest last year.