Gebhardt Emerson Moodie Bonanno, LLC - Contact Us Today

Chelsea Augelli

Meet Associate Attorney Chelsea Augelli!

Q. How long have you been a/n attorney/ paralegal/ legal assistant?
A. I have been a law clerk at GEM since January 2019 and was promoted to an Associate Attorney in November once I became a licensed attorney. I have worked in family law for a number of years.

Q. Have you ever worked in any other areas of the law?
A. Prior to law school, I worked as a paralegal at another family law firm for almost two and a half years, I worked as a legal assistant/paralegal during college at an estate planning/probate firm for around a year, and I worked in corporate legal compliance at Western Union for the global due diligence department as a compliance analyst.
During law school, I also externed at the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission as a judicial intern for several Administrative Law Judges in employment discrimination and at the 2nd Judicial District Attorney’s Office in the Family Violence Unit.

Q. What drew you to family law?
A. I was drawn to family law, because every case and every family comes with a unique set of issues that requires you to look beyond just the law to problem solve. Family law involves many other types of law, and I am constantly learning. It is also rewarding to know that you are making a difference in someone’s life at the end of the day.

Q. What do you enjoy most about family law?
A. Being a “Counselor at Law” goes farther in the context of family law. I enjoy not only representing my clients in a legal capacity, but being there for them as a guide through what may be an incredibly emotionally difficult time in their life.

Q. What do you think makes you stand out among other professionals?
A. Although I was recently sworn in as an attorney in November 2019, I have been working in family law since 2014 and have wide-ranging experience on different types of family law cases that many young lawyers have not had the opportunity to work on. I am very passionate about family law and I am always looking for new, creative approaches to handle cases.

Q. Are you originally from Colorado? If so, what do you love most about it? If not, what brought you to Colorado and what do you love most about it?
A. I was born in Houston, Texas but have lived in Colorado essentially my entire life. I grew up in Colorado Springs and moved to Denver to attend the University of Denver (Go Pios!) and have stayed in Denver since that time. What I love most about Colorado is that the sun is always shining and there is always something to do outdoors, whether that is hiking, skiing or just sitting on a patio.

Q. When you are not working at GEM Family Law, what do you enjoy doing in your free time?
A. I enjoy doing yoga, cooking, learning about wine, snowboarding, camping, watching hockey, or taking advantage of the sunshine and a good patio.

Q. What is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
A. I studied abroad in Italy during law school and lived in Sant’Agnello, Italy outside of Sorrento, Italy for a month.

Q. Any other interesting information about you?
A. I am on the board of directors for a non-profit called WineLeague that hosts competitive wine tasting events for the benefit of local Denver non-profits.