Gebhardt Emerson Moodie Bonanno, LLC - Contact Us Today

Meet Senior Associate Sarah Wolter!

This week, meet Senior Associate Sarah Wolter! Sarah practices both family law and bankruptcy law, and we are thrilled to have her as an invaluable member of the GEM Family Law Team!

Q: How long have you been an attorney?
A: I have been an attorney for 5 years. Prior to law school, I was a certified paralegal for five years.

Q: Have you ever worked in any other areas of the law?
A: In addition to practicing family law, I have worked in personal injury and mass tort litigation as an attorney. As a paralegal, I worked for a general practice law firm in the mountains, so I got to do a little bit of everything.

Q: What drew you to family law?
A: I went into law to help people. Helping families through such a tough time is extremely rewarding for me. I also enjoy the creative process of helping parties walk through settlement discussions and potential methods of resolving their case without the need for litigation.

Q: What do you enjoy most about family law?
A: I like that family law is an ever-evolving and growing area of practice, with new case law coming out continually. I also enjoy that every case is unique, and that practicing family law touches on a number of issues (financial, child-related, mental health-related) that may need to be addressed. I feel like I am always learning.

Q: What do you think makes you stand out among other family law attorneys?
A: I think my calm demeanor, along with the fact that I really do care about my clients and want to help them find the best solutions for their specific family, sets me apart. My background as a paralegal gives me an advantage, because I not only know the law, but I understand the practical applications of the law. This makes me extremely efficient and self-sufficient.

Q: Are you originally from Colorado? If so, what do you love most about it? If not, what brought you to Colorado and what do you love most about it?
A: I am originally from Oklahoma and Kansas. I moved to Colorado after graduating from the University of Kansas with my roommate to “mix it up.” Now I’m so happy I did. I met my husband here, and we have two great boys. We love to camp and spend time in the mountains. I don’t think I could ever live anywhere else, especially after being so spoiled by the fabulous weather!

Q: When you are not working at GEM Family Law, what do you enjoy doing in your free time?
A: Spending time with my family and friends is extremely important to me. I am very lucky to have such a great community here in Colorado. My boys are currently into Pokemon Go, so right now most of our time is spent Pokemon hunting!

Q: What is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
We have two dogs, a blue heeler and a corgi. This is our second set of the exact same dogs after our first dogs passed away.

Q: Any other interesting facts/ info. About you?
A: I drive a mini cooper named “Lucy.” And yes, my hair is naturally this curly.